Author Topic: [Mod] Big Font  (Read 116 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline koderkrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
[Mod] Big Font
« on: 11 July 2018, 15:53:32 »
This mod increases font sizes without breaking UI.
Existing font sizes are too small for higher resolutions and on big screens.

Intention here is to support higher resolutions on big screens. If you are using smaller resolutions then you may not need this mod.

NPC dialogs (1920x1080 screen resolution):


Other Improvements (1920x1080 screen resolution):
Original
Spoiler for Hiden:

With Mod
Spoiler for Hiden:

[Download]
Link: http://bit.ly/2uaD9Yn
Fle: tq_bigfont.7z
Size: 51 KB
Tested on version 1.57


[Usage]
Spoiler for Hiden:
1) Make sure you have the CustomMaps directory exist in game save location:
    C:\Users\<userName>\Documents\My Games\Titan Quest - Immortal Throne\CustomMaps
    If not then create one.
2) Extract tq_bigfont.7z in CustomMaps. Folder should look like this:
    C:\Users\<userName>\Documents\My Games\Titan Quest - Immortal Throne\CustomMaps\tq_bigfont
3) Run the game.
4) Go to 'Play Custom Quest'.
5) Select any character or create temporary one if none exist. Select any difficulty.
6) In Map section select tq_bigfont - bounceme.map and click start.
7) You'll get warning, saying it could be a bounce mod. Click OK.
8 ) Notice you are on main quest menu.
9) Select your character and difficulty and continue on main quest.


[Note]
1) UI components are not scalable, background images are fixed in size. So there is less flexibility in modifications.
2) Font settings couldn't be changed at all places from mod. Because, fonts settings are hard coded in the code. 
    So there are some limitations to this approach.

3) Other way to change font in the game is:
- To set it in options.txt. The file is in C:\Users\<winUser>\Documents\My Games\Titan Quest - Immortal Throne\Settings
- Change setting systemfont = "Terminal"
- Then pass '-systemfont' as starting parameter to TQ.exe.
You need to find better font to get size increase. I tried 'Terminal' font but it overflows at many places.
« Last Edit: 11 July 2018, 16:11:30 by koderkrazy »

Online nargil66

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 473
  • Country: bg
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • King of Spoilers
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
Re: [Mod] Big Font
« Reply #1 on: 11 July 2018, 18:38:02 »
Great help for people with bigger resolutions (not for me tho, playing on laptop here  :-\)

Koderkrazy, I want to ask you something - since you have your way with fonts, do you know how I can fix the custom mastery text splitting on different rows?
Link to my gallery (now trimmed and updated):
https://imgur.com/a/IHPQY7R

Offline koderkrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
Re: [Mod] Big Font
« Reply #2 on: 11 July 2018, 18:42:41 »
do you know how I can fix the custom mastery text splitting on different rows?
Please send me screenshot for better understanding of the issue.

Online nargil66

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 473
  • Country: bg
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • King of Spoilers
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
Re: [Mod] Big Font
« Reply #3 on: 11 July 2018, 19:44:07 »
Here is an example with Warfare mastery description using random text:



Same thing happens with the description inside the selected mastery screen (in this case it fits well, but not always).

It force you to heavily edit your text untill it fit in the textbox.
Link to my gallery (now trimmed and updated):
https://imgur.com/a/IHPQY7R

Offline koderkrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 98
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
Re: [Mod] Big Font
« Reply #4 on: 13 July 2018, 10:41:23 »
Here is an example with Warfare mastery description using random text:
It force you to heavily edit your text untill it fit in the textbox.
I figured it out!!  8)


Add {^n} before word that goes on next line. And add {^n}{^n} if you want a sentence to go on new line.

Here is the text that I used:
tagInstaller03_mod=It was among the Ancient Greeks that philosophy, science, math, history and the arts as we know them first began.  The independent city-states of Greece fished and farmed, {^n}dreamed and wrote poetry, warred against outsiders and amongst themselves, and {^n}observed and pondered life leaving a legacy {^n}that would be admired and imitated the world over.

Online nargil66

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 473
  • Country: bg
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • King of Spoilers
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
Re: [Mod] Big Font
« Reply #5 on: 13 July 2018, 14:23:32 »
Awesome  8) No more cutting my own text! Thanks!
Link to my gallery (now trimmed and updated):
https://imgur.com/a/IHPQY7R

Tags: big font big font mod