Author Topic: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?  (Read 280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline deoxys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -8
Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« on: 03 September 2019, 17:24:00 »
Hey guys,

I searched the internet to no avail for a .arz repacker to recompile the edited files back into database.arz format. Any one cant help? Thanks in advance!

Not Yet Rated!

Offline WNG

  • Lalyia - Ranger Lv. 85
  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Jack of All Fails
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -4
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #1 on: 03 September 2019, 19:58:31 »
If you put your unpacked arz into a mod and build it with the ArtManager, that should produce a database.arz, correct?

Not Yet Rated!

Offline deoxys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -8
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #2 on: 03 September 2019, 21:16:19 »
The problem is the art manager that came in steam titan quest game folder doesn't work for me neither does 1.6 says I'm missing 3 .dll files. I'm not trying to build a mod just doing minor editing of weight values of items and suffixes/prefixes. I was wondering if someone can make a program for me one that reads and write database.arz without having to unpack it first...

Not Yet Rated!

Offline nargil66

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1319
  • Country: bg
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: ?
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #3 on: 03 September 2019, 21:48:01 »
Artmanager 1.6 is meant to be used only with base Immortal Throne. But you can redirect Tools directory inside it to your AE root folder. It does the trick.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline deoxys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -8
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #4 on: 03 September 2019, 22:36:33 »
I don't think I have base IT just IT/AE. Besides buying IT base, is there any other options? I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or not with the art manager that does come with IT/AE, can someone give me a step by step guide on maybe how to setup the directory if it's my only option. Appreciate the quick replies so far.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline WNG

  • Lalyia - Ranger Lv. 85
  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Jack of All Fails
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -4
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #5 on: 03 September 2019, 23:30:53 »
I meant that you should create a mod to use the ArtManager to produce a database.arz that you could use to overwrite the one in the installation folder (you should back it up.) You don't have to use the mod, you could even delete it afterwards.

As for ArtManager not working, where does it go wrong exactly? You could try to find the .dlls off the Internet perhaps? Or make sure you have the correct paths set in your ArtManager.

Afaik, only the ArtManager can produce files like database.arz.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline Xerxes

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: de
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: +1
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #6 on: 04 September 2019, 16:36:01 »
The problem is the art manager that came in steam titan quest game folder doesn't work for me neither does 1.6 says I'm missing 3 .dll files. I'm not trying to build a mod just doing minor editing of weight values of items and suffixes/prefixes. I was wondering if someone can make a program for me one that reads and write database.arz without having to unpack it first...
Can you post the names of the DLL files that are missing? I could almost bet that it's a missing Visual C++ runtime. From the file names we could see what package is missing so we could tell you what to download.
Art Manager is really the tool to create mods or make modifications to database.arz. The process is rather simple.

1. Create your mod.
2. Import any .dbr files that you want to modify. You can copy the files manually to the working directory or import them in Art Manager. It's your choice.
3. Modify the .dbr files. Again, you can do this in Art Manager or in any text editor.
4. Build the mod with Art Manager (F7). A file <modname>.arz is created in the custommaps folder of your TQ IT profile.
5. Copy the original database.arz from the game folder to the TQ IT profile where the new <modname>.arz is. Rename database.arz to <modname>.arz, overwriting the original mod file.
6. Build the mod again with Art Manager (F7). Now the Art Manager will inject all your modifications into <modname>.arz so you have an updated game database with your changes.
7. Move or copy <modname>.arz back to your game folder and rename to database.arz.

Of course you can skip step 1 if you already have a mod created. Always keep a backup of the original database.arz. You will need this if you want to remove changes to original files in database.arz because the Art Manager will not revert anything. It can only apply changes not restore data.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline deoxys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -8
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #7 on: 05 September 2019, 23:39:48 »
 I downloaded the .dll I was missing now I dunno where to put them.

The ones I'm missing were:
1. Stlport_vc7146.dll
2. SourceControll.dll
3. Engine.dll
4. MFC71.dll

Not Yet Rated!

Offline WNG

  • Lalyia - Ranger Lv. 85
  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Jack of All Fails
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -4
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #8 on: 05 September 2019, 23:51:25 »
Leaving them in the installation folder should do the trick.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline deoxys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -8
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #9 on: 06 September 2019, 01:10:00 »

https://imgur.com/VJZjDe7



There's the screenshot the error art manager 1.6 is now giving me. Anything I did wrong? I put all the .dll like you said in TQ game directory.

Not Yet Rated!

Offline deoxys

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -8
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #10 on: 06 September 2019, 04:43:34 »
I got it to work now...How do you import database.arz the whole thing instead of one by one....in art manager

Not Yet Rated!

Offline WNG

  • Lalyia - Ranger Lv. 85
  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 499
  • Country: ca
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Jack of All Fails
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: -4
Re: Is there a tool to repack database.arz?
« Reply #11 on: 06 September 2019, 10:49:42 »
Use ARZExplorer and extract the database in the installation folder. Then, just put the result in the database folder of your mod.

Tags: