Titan Quest Fans Forum

Titan Quest - Anniversary Edition => Modifications => Texture & Skin Modding => Topic started by: koechophe on 03 August 2018, 01:52:12

Title: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 03 August 2018, 01:52:12
Heya, I'm trying to create retexture mods for the pc, but I'm running into an issue. I'm able to extract the textures with texmod, then load the source files into art manager and create a new asset, but the created .tex files are completely useless. I'm guessing I have to build them in the assets panel, but when I right click on it and say build, art manager just exits. Does anyone know the proper workflow for creating a .tex file to be used as a texture replacer?

Any/all help is appreciated. Thanks!
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: nargil66 on 03 August 2018, 05:10:44
Which version of ArtManager are you using?
Try AM 1.6, found here: https://titanquestfans.net/index.php?topic=350.0
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: WNG on 03 August 2018, 05:17:08
What is the format of the original texture? Just taking a wild guess here, I've never had any issues with importing textures... :/
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 03 August 2018, 22:33:58
Which version of ArtManager are you using?
Try AM 1.6, found here: https://titanquestfans.net/index.php?topic=350.0

I try to run 1.6, but it says, the program couldn't run because MFC71.dll is missing. Does the program have any prerequs?

As far as the original texture, all I'm doing is grabbing the game's original texture (found in the database folder), running it through texmod (I've tried every format), editting in GIMP, and pushing it back into the art manager. I've tried the process without editing it, but it still doesn't produce a usable texture, I think because when I try to build with art manager, art manager crashes.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: WNG on 04 August 2018, 00:10:40
Well I'm kind of confused as to wich Art Manager you are using. You are modding for IT or AE?

My IT Art Manager doesn't open (gives me the same error you mentionned earlier) and my AE Art Manager is v1.4.

I don't know if it has anything to do with your issue, though.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 04 August 2018, 00:52:18
I'm using the default Art Manager for AE that comes when you install the game.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: nargil66 on 04 August 2018, 01:30:01
Quote
I try to run 1.6, but it says, the program couldn't run because MFC71.dll is missing. Does the program have any prerequs?
It requres plain Immortal Throne 1.1. I got the same error at first, because I tried it on Anniversary Edition. To make it read AE's database, copy the AE/Ragnarok's database.arz and paste it in the Immortal Throne Database folder, replacing the old one (backup it first if you want). Then put ArtManager 1.6 in Immortal Throne root folder and run it. Should work. Also install AE templates if you haven't.

Quote
As far as the original texture, all I'm doing is grabbing the game's original texture (found in the database folder), running it through texmod (I've tried every format), editting in GIMP, and pushing it back into the art manager. I've tried the process without editing it, but it still doesn't produce a usable texture, I think because when I try to build with art manager, art manager crashes.
Did you converted them to .TGA or .PSD? These are the only formats which ArtManager accepts.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 04 August 2018, 23:14:21
So is there a way to download just immortal throne only? I only own the anniversary edition...

I tried extracting the textures into both of those formats, but I think the problem is still with the art manager.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: nargil66 on 05 August 2018, 00:45:30
You can try downloading from a torrent... noone makes money from it now anyway.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: MedeaFleecestealer on 05 August 2018, 09:34:35
Oh, I don't know.  There are some copies on amazon (US/UK) that are going for quite a lot ($30-$40).  But there are some cheap ones as well.  I saw the Gold Edition for $3.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 06 August 2018, 05:02:55
So I installed immortal throne, and was able to get art manager 1.6 working, but I'm still having the same issue (I've installed the templates too btw). Here's my workflow, please tell me if there's something wrong with it:

1) Extract the texture from the .tex file using Tex Viewer into .Tga
2) Import the file into the first folder on the list, and auto-build a texture asset as ddx5 (or whatever it is, I've tried all those options and none work).
3) Flip over to the assets tab, right click on the new .tex file and click "build". At this point, the art manager always crashes.

I've tried grabbing the .tex file the art manager creates, but it's broken, tex viewer won't read it and the game won't load it.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: WNG on 06 August 2018, 11:38:07
Can you lend us the texture and see if we can build it proprely? Sounds more like a AM problem, but we never know.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: nargil66 on 06 August 2018, 15:24:12
Hmm, everything seems right... AM 1.6 crashes too?
There is a workaround method using TQ Texture Tools:
https://mega.nz/#!T3JG0YbY!d4c1smzJp0BOzU7igreZv_3cmIkDEUQtghT-Y4GxqfU
You need to save the file in .DDS format and paste it over TQ.Texture.Compile.exe. It will be converted automatically to a .TEX file.
But this is just to preview your skins from Database folder, it's not the "legit" way.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 07 August 2018, 18:32:13
That works for now. Sometime I'll have to figure out why my art manager is crashing, but I'll roll with this for what I'm putting together.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: koechophe on 07 August 2018, 20:34:35
So for the next bit of my project, I tried to change the .dbr of the main male character (malepc01.dbr) and nothing I do seems to have any effect. I've tried grabbing the changed raw malepc01.dbr and putting it in the database/creatures/pc folder, and I've tried repacking the whole .arz file, but neither seem to work. I'm trying to get it to draw upon a different model by editing the model and texture parameters under the actor variables tab, but when I load my custom game, the character still looks exactly the same. Is this another sign that my art manager is borked? These ones build and edit just fine, and the files look okay after they're built...
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: nargil66 on 07 August 2018, 21:09:14
Can't tell what the problem is, what I can tell you is unpacking the database.arz will never work, it applies only for resources.
As WNG said, you can try sending us the source files of your mod, if we can build them, the problem is in AM.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: Bumbleguppy on 06 November 2018, 03:41:10
I've tried grabbing the changed raw malepc01.dbr and putting it in the database/creatures/pc folder

Well, here's your problem.

Use the XPack/Creatures/pc directory not the base game's.
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: Alexander7194 on 05 June 2019, 10:03:03
Hey where do you find the titan quest anniversary Templates
Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: Alexander7194 on 05 June 2019, 10:46:04
I'm trying to create a mod for Titan quest anniversary and its juts not working at all. I'm using the default titan quest anniversary Art manager and editor to try and create a basic mod with a couple of edited dbr's. After when i finish editing the mod as usual, i click auto create asset and an error occurs saying..

Unsupported version for 'C:\Users\Alexander\Documents\My Games\Titan Quest - Immortal Throne\Working\CustomMaps\newmod\source\Maps\NewMod.lvl'   


Title: Re: Help getting the art manager to work for AE/ragnorak
Post by: undefind on 06 June 2019, 01:28:18
I'm trying to create a mod for Titan quest anniversary and its juts not working at all. I'm using the default titan quest anniversary Art manager and editor to try and create a basic mod with a couple of edited dbr's. After when i finish editing the mod as usual, i click auto create asset and an error occurs saying..

Unsupported version for 'C:\Users\Alexander\Documents\My Games\Titan Quest - Immortal Throne\Working\CustomMaps\newmod\source\Maps\NewMod.lvl'   


you sure you don't mean "build"?
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2020, SimplePortal