Author Topic: Is it possible to change the starting equipment?  (Read 152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline etb

  • Member
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: af
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Is it possible to change the starting equipment?
« on: 24 November 2017, 00:02:48 »
I am playing around with the artmanager and I wanted to add a dozen or so of heal and energy potions to the main character when it starts.
I tried to add few lines to records\quests\rewards\startingloot.dbr, but it did not work.

What am I supposed to do?

Offline Typhon

  • Xul
  • TQ Club Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 209
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Sometimes you just gotta march on Mount Olympus.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change the starting equipment?
« Reply #1 on: 24 November 2017, 00:19:07 »
Tell me if you ever figure this out ;)
Your inventory is full *Plays intense game of tetris*
Spoiler for Hiden:

Offline etb

  • Member
  • *
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: af
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change the starting equipment?
« Reply #2 on: 24 November 2017, 10:38:44 »
Not very helpful. But in the case, I will :)

Offline nargil66

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Country: bg
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change the starting equipment?
« Reply #3 on: 24 November 2017, 19:28:45 »
You can try adding it as a quest reward from the first quest with the horse.

Offline Malgardian

  • Spectre
  • TQ Club Member
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 102
  • Country: de
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Location: Where all deleted files come to rest...
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Time Zone: +1
Re: Is it possible to change the starting equipment?
« Reply #4 on: 25 November 2017, 16:38:06 »
I might be completely wrong, but isn't the startingloot.dbr the first chest you encounter on your way to the shaman?
Avatar by: donut3.5

Creator of the Patchfix for Fanpatch 1.17

~~ "Many Kings. Many Empires. Many Gods. Many Gods. All Gone. All Things Go." ~~
Going Postal - Terry Pratchett

Offline Bumbleguppy

  • Forum Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: us
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Is it possible to change the starting equipment?
« Reply #5 on: 25 November 2017, 16:56:50 »
Records/Quests/Rewards/startingloot.dbr

This is the file that is loaded by the game to the player inventory on character creation. And also again if you mess with a quest file in a game mod lol

As this is a lootItemTable_FixedWeight template, it will spawn only one item. You won't be able to spawn multiple items from this file.

THe file is used in the quest file:
Quests\init - set up all acts.qst

You can add other items using the "Give Player Item" command in this file then import it to a mod
« Last Edit: 25 November 2017, 17:02:25 by Bumbleguppy »